Whoopsie! Magazine Mistakes Can Be Amusing

Posted: April 24, 2011 in Articles, For Editors
Tags: , , , , , ,

Photo courtesy of Food Network Humor

Food Network Magazine recently ran a cover whoopsie of the magazine Tails. Everybody has a mistake every once in a while, but it’s really unfortunate when the lack of a comma on a cover makes it sound like a celebrity cooks her own family and pet. Read the whole article here.

I can’t judge too much, I guess. I once let a headline run with the word “success” spelled with only one C. And even better, in one article, a white box in post-production covered the B in the title of my magazine so that underneath the writer’s name, it said “ASS Times Senior Writer” instead of “BASS Times Senior Writer.” Good one! (Let me add that I do not recommend making mistakes, and that I find those two incidents to be awful — not amusing — but they do keep me humble. And I don’t insult someone else’s mistake without pointing these two out.)

The best thing you can learn from a typo that gets printed is to watch closer … and closer … and closer. And get as many eyeballs on it as possible ahead of time.

What’s the worst magazine mistake you’ve ever seen?

–Tyler W. Reed

Editor, The Sidebar Review


Comments
  1. flyinggma says:

    I still have the Time magazine somewhere in my home when Bill Clinton was featured on the cover and the top of the M in Time made him look like he had devil’s horns on top of his head.

    You are correct those mistakes can be amusing but I suppose embarassing for the editor who misses something.

Leave a Reply

